White collar’d sinner

I’m a white collar’d sinner
My sin looks good.

Perfectionist on the inside
Means I get the job done.
At times, without trusting,
Sad to say… my Father above.

Service of others,
Oh look what they’ll see!
Don’t wanna be served by another:
How could this be??

I’m a white collar’d sinner.
My sin looks good.

Yet before the One who beholds
As clear as day to Him
Flickers of earning and striving
A wayward rest, and lack of ease

I’m far more sinful
Than any can see.
It scares me silly
How black my unseen heart can be.

This is the truth,
It shouldn’t surprise.
But to God’s grace
It begs: ‘these things must demise.’

For they do not belong
In a heart renew’d.
Where new life has been granted.
Through faith in the One, the Son.

For now, the struggle with sin
But praise God!
His grace, oh it reaches,
Reaches further still, within,
Renewing, remaking, shaping…
To the praise of the One above!

Leave a comment