Who can stand?

Who can stand?

Under the gaze of the One

who profoundly seeing

knows all occasions of my being

.

my sin – scattered wide and deep

by me, from me

against imaged neighbours and God

my foolishness – in speech and actions, emails and whatsapps

nouns, verbs, and moments of absurdity,

ugly flight from goodness and simple beauty

my brokenness – not only done by me but against me

warped stories twisting our histories

shameful burdens and baggage borne

.

Who can stand?

Except with open hands –

humbled, needy

a creature thirsty, asking for grace

.

And given it, to the point of sonship

the assurance of Christ’s clothing

to cover our nakedness

our circumstanced bruises and deliberate rap sheets

our moments of insanely inane stupidity

all encompassed by a greater identity

polished by the present Spirit

a newness of name

gifted only by the Creator-Redeemer

.

Who can stand?

Only those standing

because of the One who stands for them

rep’ed before the highest heavenly throne

.

Him –

our anchor of relational security and justice

Sheltered by his commitment,

his faithfulness

Received by our leaning on him,

no matter our record

Under the Father who

neither forgets what should be upheld

nor Cancels those who can be Forgiven

.

What vanity to think I can restore my vanity to the point of perfection

to polish up and over what is blemished beyond flawless renovation

to erase the spots of culpability and disgrace that always show

no matter the paint or performance

.

Who can stand?

None but those in Him

I stand because of Christ and Him alone

Free at last I stand in Him, and walk

Are you an isiZulu speaker?

The same poem was kindly translated by a team mate and is available here: Ubani ongama?

Leave a comment